

PRESS RELEASE

Morocco hosts 83rd Session of the Executive Committee of the African Parliamentary Union

The Parliament of Morocco and the African Parliamentary Union (APU) signed a Memorandum of Understanding in Rabat, on February 13, with the aim of the Maghreb legislative body hosting the 83rd Session of the African organisation's Executive Committee from 21 to 22 May 2025.

The Memorandum of Understanding had been signed by the Secretary-General of the House of Representatives, Najib El Khadi, Secretary-General of the House of Councillor's, El Assad ZEROUALI, and the Secretary-General of the APU, IDI GADO Boubacar.

In brief words, the Secretary-General of the House of Representatives said it is a pleasure to welcome African parliaments to Morocco and that they had always shown collaboration on behalf of the parliamentary organisation they had once chaired.

For his part, the Secretary-General of the APU thanked the Moroccan parliament for its willingness to host the 83rd Session of the Executive Committee, stressing that Morocco is one of the African countries that has always been willing to contribute to the organisation.

The Executive Committee is composed of three members from each National Group elected for a two-year term. The Chairperson of the Executive Committee is a Speaker of a National Parliament.

The President of the Executive Committee of APU is the Speaker of the Parliament of Tchad, His Excellency Ali Kolotou TCHAIMI.

The APU's main objectives are: to be the forum for African national parliaments, an instrument for dialogue, parliamentary cooperation and parliamentary democracy at the service of peace, democracy, good governance and sustainable development.

The organisation also aims to promote national parliaments that are representative of the population, to promote contacts between African parliamentarians, as well as between African parliamentarians and others worldwide.

The APU members include Algeria, Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Comoros, Congo, Ivory Coast, Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea Conakry, Guinea Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Kenya, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Mali, Morocco, Mauritania, Niger, Uganda, Democratic Republic of Congo, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, Chad, Togo, Tunisia and Zimbabwe.

The APU was founded in 1976 and is based in Abidjan, Ivory Coast.

Secretary-General of APU had courtesy meeting with the Speaker of the House of Representatives of Morocco

The Secretary-General of the African Parliamentary Union (APU), IDI GADO Boubacar, had a courtesy meeting, on February 13, with the Speaker of the House of Representatives of the Parliament of Morocco, Rachid Talbi Alami.

The meeting was a moment when the Secretary-General thanked His Excellency for the fact that Morocco will hold the 83rd Session of the Executive Committee of APU in Rabat from 21 to 22 May 2025.
